"Cathy" Comic Strip to End Its Run

A section for fans of both Western and Eastern forms of graphic novels, manga, magazines, books, and everything in between.
User avatar
d.yaro
Head Moderator
Posts: 5113
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 9:46 am
Location: Yonezawa, Yamagata, Japan... Home of the famous "Yonezawa Gyu (Beef)"
Contact:

"Cathy" Comic Strip to End Its Run

Postby d.yaro » Thu Aug 12, 2010 9:35 pm

I did read that comic strip when I used to buy newspapers at work. I found them to be amusing and good for a light chuckle. Better than today's Garfield but not in the class of zany stuff like Get Fuzzy.
http://www.cbc.ca/arts/story/2010/08/11/cathy-comic-strip.html?ref=rss&loomia_si=t0:a16:g4:r3:c0:b0
Image
Image
"Boredom is not an appropriate response to exploding cars." - Hugh Laurie

User avatar
Bonham
Posts: 941
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:48 pm
Location: Columbus, OH

Re: "Cathy" Comic Strip to End Its Run

Postby Bonham » Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:26 pm

Hopefully Family Circus is next. (My attitude towards that is so low that I don't even italicize it.)

User avatar
Sukunai
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Ontario Canada
Contact:

Re: "Cathy" Comic Strip to End Its Run

Postby Sukunai » Fri Aug 13, 2010 7:38 pm

Used to do the graveyard shift at a convenience store, naturally that meant reading the comics.

Always liked this one among a few regulars.
Expert counsel, generous advice from friends, and my own knowledge has left me realizing, I am all that a man needs to be a man, and yet, I live half my day with a woman's frame of mind all the same.
I'd rather something in the way of more mundane troubles :)

User avatar
classicalzawa
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 4:26 pm

Re: "Cathy" Comic Strip to End Its Run

Postby classicalzawa » Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:21 am

Thank god, Cathy has always pissed me off as a comic, it's like "women buy shoes and act bitchy and/or whiny about it" I mean wtf? As a female, this comic has always offended me and I'm glad to see it go.

I would probably say I want Garfield to end too, but Garfield minus Garfield can be pretty awesome so I'll let it slide. Family Circus can go jump off a cliff though.


Return to “Manga, Comics, & Literature”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests