What books are you reading?

A section for fans of both Western and Eastern forms of graphic novels, manga, magazines, books, and everything in between.
User avatar
Psycho 101
Promoter
Posts: 10371
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:00 am
Location: Hiding in your fridge eating your cake.
Contact:

What books are you reading?

Postby Psycho 101 » Fri Oct 17, 2008 6:06 am

So what books are you reading right now? Got any that you've completed lately? As for me I marathoned all 4 of the Odd Thomas books by Dean Koontz. Truly one of my favorite literature series of all times.

User avatar
Truered
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby Truered » Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:27 pm

Slowly reading through the zombie survival guide :D


And (very) occasionally a textbook.
Image Image Image

User avatar
JesuOtaku
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:00 pm
Location: Southern Kentucky, yes, we wear shoes...
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby JesuOtaku » Sat Oct 18, 2008 4:38 am

Aside from school material, I'm getting some new screenwriting books in the mail soon.

"Your Screenplay Sucks" and "Save the Cat: Last Screenwriting book You'll Ever Need." I hope that suffix is right, as I already have five of them suckers, and they're well-loved and dog-eared. :D
Image

Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't.

User avatar
darksideoftheanime
Posts: 7438
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 11:40 pm
Location: Upstate New York
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby darksideoftheanime » Sun Oct 19, 2008 3:46 pm

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
Image
Dammit, it’s my turn to say dammit.” -Daria.
What are you listening to? challenge: Completed 102 of 114.

User avatar
JesuOtaku
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:00 pm
Location: Southern Kentucky, yes, we wear shoes...
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby JesuOtaku » Sun Oct 19, 2008 7:28 pm

darksideoftheanime wrote:The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde


Oh, that's a good one! Kind of flawed in the "origin" aspect, (I think Dorian's choice should have been more deliberate like it is in all the film adaptations, less accidental,) but a great read.
Image

Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't.

User avatar
bashfulglowfly
Posts: 7508
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:30 am
Location: Riverside, CA
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby bashfulglowfly » Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:19 am

I have a few:

Exile's Valor by Mercedes Lackey (this is the book I'm currently taking to work with me).

The Black Dagger Brotherhood: an Insider's Guide by J.R. Ward (Vampire Romance :oops: :D )
Image

User avatar
Psycho 101
Promoter
Posts: 10371
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:00 am
Location: Hiding in your fridge eating your cake.
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby Psycho 101 » Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:10 am

Exile's valor....I should know this one. Isn't it one of the Valdemar books? Deals with the soldier from Karse who winds up with a companion right?

User avatar
bashfulglowfly
Posts: 7508
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:30 am
Location: Riverside, CA
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby bashfulglowfly » Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:22 am

Psycho 101 wrote:Exile's valor....I should know this one. Isn't it one of the Valdemar books? Deals with the soldier from Karse who winds up with a companion right?


Exactly! His early years as a Herald.
Image

User avatar
Psycho 101
Promoter
Posts: 10371
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:00 am
Location: Hiding in your fridge eating your cake.
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby Psycho 101 » Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:52 am

Wasn't his name...Alderich or something like that? Personally her best from the many Valdemar series are The Last Herald Made trilogy, Burning Brightly, and the Gryphon books set as a prequel of sorts to Valdemar being set up. Just my opinion.

I'm happy as a pig in poo though as Brian Jacques finally made a new Redwall novel! Just saw it in Borders the other night. I need to buy it when I go shopping tomorrow or Tuesday.

Liesl von Kaulitz
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:24 pm

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby Liesl von Kaulitz » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:10 pm

I'm reading the Caballo de Troya series by J. J. Benítez (sorry, don't know the English translation for the title), but actually I don't read a lot at the moment. I'm busy drawing xD
Image

User avatar
bashfulglowfly
Posts: 7508
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:30 am
Location: Riverside, CA
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby bashfulglowfly » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:12 pm

Psycho 101 wrote:Wasn't his name...Alderich or something like that? Personally her best from the many Valdemar series are The Last Herald Made trilogy, Burning Brightly, and the Gryphon books set as a prequel of sorts to Valdemar being set up. Just my opinion.


It's Alberich. And I'm happy with all of her Valdemar books. I love every one of them! :D
Image

User avatar
braves
Posts: 1053
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:51 pm
Location: From: Puerto Rico (but living in Texas)
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby braves » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:20 pm

Liesl von Kaulitz wrote:I'm reading the Caballo de Troya series by J. J. Benítez (sorry, don't know the English translation for the title)...


I believe the translation is "Trojan Horse".

User avatar
Saki
Posts: 2779
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 4:37 am
Location: Ready to kick your butt.
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby Saki » Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:29 pm

It is, but the book series is in Spanish.

I'm not really reading something in particular. Just Memoirs Of A Geisha when I'm too bored.
ImageImage

Nankatsu's Field: Updated every Monday

User avatar
JesuOtaku
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 8:00 pm
Location: Southern Kentucky, yes, we wear shoes...
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby JesuOtaku » Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:22 pm

A very nice book called "Save the Cat: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need."

I'm not sure I agree with the subheading as it covers the business side of things rather than the creative process, and both are key, but it is excellent!
Image

Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't.

User avatar
darksideoftheanime
Posts: 7438
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 11:40 pm
Location: Upstate New York
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby darksideoftheanime » Fri Oct 24, 2008 12:50 am

Other then the last book I said I'm also reading As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner for English
Image
Dammit, it’s my turn to say dammit.” -Daria.
What are you listening to? challenge: Completed 102 of 114.

User avatar
Psycho 101
Promoter
Posts: 10371
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:00 am
Location: Hiding in your fridge eating your cake.
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby Psycho 101 » Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:09 am

I'm reading the original Halo novel Ghosts of Onyx right now. More Spartan bang for your buck heh.

User avatar
aya honda
Moderator
Posts: 1065
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 5:31 pm
Location: Around here

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby aya honda » Wed Nov 05, 2008 9:20 pm

I have just finished Stephen King's On writing and I definetely loved this book, although I am not a big fan of the writer. An interesting book nonetheless with lots of interesting tips for how to become a good writer. I don't say all of them were good to follow but there were some ideas with which I actually agreed a lot.

I am also picking up Faulkner's Absolom! Absolom!. It is the one book that I actually feel like I should finish, although it is a difficult one and sometimes I feel like I am losing the ideas. And also I am re-reading If no one speaks of remarcable things by Jon Mcgregor. I feel like this book is one of the most wonderful books I have come across in ages. I love it.

User avatar
bashfulglowfly
Posts: 7508
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:30 am
Location: Riverside, CA
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby bashfulglowfly » Wed Nov 05, 2008 9:40 pm

Right now I'm reading Davind Eddings' The Belgariad which is a trade paperback containing the stories: Pawn of Prophecy, Queen of Sorcery & Magician's Gambit. This is an old friend that I've read for years. I enjoy it and I think that I will always enjoy this series.

It would make a really great anime series! :)
Image

User avatar
d.yaro
Head Moderator
Posts: 5038
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 9:46 am
Location: Yonezawa, Yamagata, Japan... Home of the famous "Yonezawa Gyu (Beef)"
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby d.yaro » Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:42 am

Finished reading last night "Rowboat In a Hurricane". The book is by a woman who, along with her fiance, rowed across the Atlantic Ocean from Lisbon, Portugal to Costa Rica. The frightening aspect of the story is that they rode out three hurricanes and a couple of tropical storms. This feat was done in the winter of 2005/2006 I believe. It's quite an amazing story.
Image
Image
"Boredom is not an appropriate response to exploding cars." - Hugh Laurie
My Flickr Photostream / My Plurk timeline

User avatar
Not a Jellyfish
Posts: 304
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:48 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Contact:

Re: What books are you reading?

Postby Not a Jellyfish » Mon Nov 10, 2008 1:54 am

I'm currently reading American Gods by Neil Gaiman. This is the first Gaiman I've actually really read, and I must say, I'm quite impressed. I'm about half way through and I really love it. His imagery is wonderful and I love his characters. I'm a huge fan of mythology, especially Norse, so I'm just eating this all up. It's wonderful, and so far i recommend it. I think next I'll pick up Good Omens by Gaiman and Pratchett.
Image


Return to “Manga, Comics, & Literature”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest