Advice for newcomers to anime.

Area to discuss all things anime related.
doug19992000

Advice for newcomers to anime.

Postby doug19992000 » Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:42 pm

Most of us on this site probably have at least ten years of experience, or more, in anime fandom. So my question is: If you could give a newcomer to anime advice. What would it be?

My advice would be to pace yourself. Start out watching shows in a genre that you like then branch out into others. Just because a new season of anime is airing doesn't mean that you have to watch every single show. Doing something you want to do is enjoyable. Doing something that you feel you need to do can make it seem more like a chore. Which I believe can lead to burnout.

beken

Re: Advice for newcomers to anime.

Postby beken » Sun Dec 29, 2013 3:03 am

I think it's great advice to go in slowly.

So...for a total novice, watching mostly English (read American or British) comic books in the past, where would one even start?

What would you recommend?

Maybe this forum could have a beginner's recommendations thread? What genres are out there?

Because I am a bit of a car nut, I enjoyed the Initial D series.

Anybody else have recommendations?

doug19992000

Postby doug19992000 » Mon Dec 30, 2013 10:12 pm

Other than Speed Racer or Redline, I can't think of any other anime were the focus is on cars or racing.

There is a thread for recommendations, so feel free to use that if you need any help in finding a new series to watch.

d.yaro
Head Moderator
Location: Yonezawa, Yamagata, Japan... Home of the famous "Yonezawa Gyu (Beef)"

Postby d.yaro » Thu Jan 02, 2014 6:08 am

If I think of other things I'll post them here...here's my first thought on the question at hand: